Sporedum

Spore News, Blog, Walkthroughs, FAQ, Modding news, mods and more!

Creator Spotlight: beta_psi

Posted by ballightning on April 11, 2009

Beta_psi is a more recent creator, with most of his creations were made this year. His creations have improved dramatically over the last months and now are extraordinarily detailed and throught out. However Beta_psi will be leaving the spore community for his dream job. Read on for more! 

If you think you have a creator who deserves a spotlight, post a comment below or in our thread on the official forums.

Sporedum’s Creator/Creature Spotlight Homepage

 

Creation Detail

Location: USA, Midwest

Profile: beta_psi

 

Sporedum: Your creations are awesome! Do you find any particular inspiration for your work? 

Beta_psi: Thanks for the compliment and for the interview. I definitely draw on my many interests and place them in my creations. About half of my creations are planned before I began working on them, the other half evolve as I worked on them, and nearly all incorporate topics like medicine, mathematics, computer science, history, architecture, chemistry and biology into the description and background of the creation. 

 

 

 

Sporedum: You get a lot of great ratings for your creations, as well as many comments. Have you met anyone during your experience playing Spore?

Beta_psi: I’ve never met anyone in person, but I’ve made a lot of buddies. Hilight was the first to introduce me to the online Spore community, inviting me to join a sunbike contest. From there, I began to really follow the MPN and watch sporepedia for great creators. It wasn’t until Serevanth spotlighted me, and in the same week I had my first feature that I really began to interact with many others online. I tried to keep up with the many comments and respond to all of them, but after a while I just couldn’t keep up. I apologize to anyone whose comment I didn’t return. There is a pretty stable buddy base, though, that I am able to keep up with and exchange comments regularly. 

Recently I teamed up with jtc209 and Vultrio for Thaleron’s Dragon Fanatic Club Team contest. We were able to work together to create some pretty phenomenal dragons with an awesome back story by Vultrio. And most recently, Moejoe18 and I are working together on a ‘Space Civ Contest’, which includes over 30 teams and close to 100 creators. It has been great to see the work of others and interact with them. 

 

Creation Detail

 

Sporedum: Looking through your 280+ creations, it’s hard to pick out one that is the best. Do you have a personal favorite? And what is your favorite creation by another player? 

Beta_psi: One of my favorites, that hasn’t had much recognition, is the ‘solar fly‘. I finished the construction completely on it, then painted it–and it just lit up! I was really astonished, and it is still one of my favorites.  To chose another creation by someone else is difficult. There’s over 70,000 creations downloaded to my computer, and there are so many skilled creators in so many areas. I can’t choose just one! 
Sporedum: Which editor is your favorite to create in (creature, building, vehicle, spaceship)? Why? 

Beta_psi: I really like all of them. When I started I really enjoyed the creature editor–mostly because I only had creature creator for a month or two. When I bought Spore, I enjoyed the freedom of the space editor, as well as all the parts. It was only recently that I have found a lot of enjoyment in the much more difficult to use, but very versatile building editor. The vehicle editor, is my least favorite–perhaps because it is also the most restricting. 

 

Creation Detail

Sporedum: Many of your creations have a very stylized look – do you have a story or theme behind your creations? 

Beta_psi: Quite a few of my creations have a story behind them. My Atlantis series was inspired by the news that a someone found a grid-like pattern on Google Earth, just off the coast of Africa. Google quickly let people know that this was an error due to placing images together, and that in fact, the lost city of Atlantis had not been found. This launched me into an Atlantean civilization of nomads that would spend time on a planet for a while on their city-ships, then depart as the indigenous species became closer to discovering their presence. I had a lot of fun with the idea, and I think a lot of people enjoyed the set as well. 

Other sets stem from other inspiration. Tseme’kwes was inspired by the Yeti, and NW American Native Americans–I actually found a scanned in copy of the Lummi dictionary and used the Native American names for the creations. Chi was inspired by Oriental architecture. Mullerians inspired by early US feminists in the US: Jill Ker Conway for one. Many have other meanings that can be discovered by a Wikipedia or Google search. 

 


Creation Detail

Sporedum: Your creations seem like they have gotten more sophisticated as you continued to create. Do you feel your creations have evolved with time? 

Beta_psi: Oh yes, most definitely. My early creations–most of which I’ve deleted from Sporepedia, look much like the creations on the ‘newest creations’ page. Taking apart creations of those on the MPN taught me a lot about what could be done, as well as experimenting on my own. 

 

Sporedum: What would be the most essential piece of advice you could give for people to improve their creations? 

Beta_psi: Try something new. In the creature editor, really angle the spine and limbs, and pick random colors and textures–work backwards from this. Learn to use the [shift], [tab], and [alt] keys in the other editors. Make a creation based on a picture/building/vehicle outside of Spore. Have fun! 

 

Creation Detail

 

Sporedum: Are you excited about the release of Spore Galactic Adventures on the 23rd of June? And how do you think you will use the adventures creator to advance you creations? 

Beta_psi: Unfortunately, I won’t be a part of Galactic Adventures. At the end of June, I start my dream job, a residency in surgery, and I simply won’t have time to create. I might buy it and pop in every few weeks when I have a little time. And although I’ll be leaving this great community very soon and I’ll miss a lot of the people and art here, I’m pretty excited to enter a field where I can put my skills to use for the greater good of others.

_________________________________________________________________

Uber Creation Contest Spore

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

________________________________________________________________

2 Responses to “Creator Spotlight: beta_psi”

  1. […] Beta_psi is a more recent creator, with most of his creations were made this year. His creations have improved dramatically over the last months and now are extraordinarily detailed and throught out. However Beta_psi will be leaving the spore community for his dream job. Read the Interview with Beta_psi Sporedums Creator/Creature Spotlight Homepage for past Spotlights […]

  2. M5000 said

    Hey, just me, I’m a fan of some of Beta’s work.. Another thing I would really like to congratulate him on, is working with Moejoe18 to create what I think is the best contest ever. They just recently closed the Civilization Contest, in which entrants are challenged to make and entire civilization set.. It turned out having somewhere close to like 600 entries to the main sporecast or something.. Great contest, and I would just like to congratulate him on that.

Leave a Reply

 
