Sporedum

Spore News, Blog, Walkthroughs, FAQ, Modding news, mods and more!

Creator Spotlight: Mouthwash

Posted by ballightning on May 7, 2009

Mouthwash is one of the more popular creators, with a focus towards realism, and the design of objects. Read on for the full interview.

If you think you have a creator who deserves a spotlight, post a comment below or in our thread on the official forums.

Sporedum’s Creator/Creature Spotlight Homepage

 

Location: Ohio, USA

ProfileMouthwash

Your creations are awesome! Do you find any particular inspiration for your work? 

I try to find inspiration from everywhere, but I find most of my inspiration from nature and real world animals. It may not look like it, but deep down inside, most of my creations are really sea urchins, wolves, and venus flytraps on a bad day! I may focus on a single characteristic of an animal, or take several traits from different species and make a hybrid. For mechanical designs, I look at the world around me: videogames, movies… even common, every day items sitting on my desk all serve as starting points for a ship or vehicle. Humor is also a source of inspiration for me. 

 

 

 

 

You get a lot of great ratings for your creations, as well as many comments. Have you met anyone during your experience playing Spore? 

Yes, I have…. I’ve met many people, in fact! I knew many way back last year when the community was on different forums and we were still using the stand-alone Creature Creator. Although many members of the old community have since moved on and no longer create, I still swap comments regularly with Doomnova, who is a very talented and active creator. GrandPeep is another creator from the Creature Creator days, and I got to know him a bit when I helped him flesh out the tutorial for utilizing the asymmetrical limb glitch in the creature creator. I met Thobewill though a mutual love of Starcraft creations, and met Masscolder when I was trying to get to the bottom of an issue with the mass-downrating of popular players’ creations. Trust me, that was annoying to deal with. Recently, I have also gotten to know the personalities of PatTheWandererDidzo,ChimerahoundPsychichazard, and many others through the Spore Forums

 

Looking through your 350+ creations, it’s hard to pick out one that is the best. Do you have a personal favorite? And what is your favorite creation by another player? 

Oooh… that is tough. Just one? Well…. I would say one of my most favorite creations would be my Asterlux. Its a very old creation of mine, and I wouldn’t consider it my best, but I think it’s a creature with a lot of personality. My inspiration for it were stars and constellations, and I recreated the idea through shiny macknes connected through knurldowns and the end result is a unique design that I have yet to see anywhere else. The Asterlux (whose name is derived from Latin words for “star” and “light”) is a little special to me because I used it to win one of my first contests on the old EA Spore Forums. 

My favorite by another player is equally tough to choose. I can’t give you a top creation, but one of my favorites would be Dirtymeat’s “Sharna’s Boneslave“. It has a very elegant, open design. There’s just so many curves and a lot of details to look at. The ship is pure eye candy. The Boneship’s symmetrical design is what inspired me to make many of my ships with radial symmetry. 

 

 

 

 

Which editor is your favorite to create in (creature, building, vehicle, spaceship)? Why? 

My favorite editor has always been the creature creator. I love biology: I am a marine biologist undergrad and so I have always been partial to the organics. Just being able to see your design come to life with a variety of animations has always been a fun little experience. Maxis did a phenomenal job of making created creatures come to life. A close second would be the spaceship creator, simply due to the immense flexibility and ease-of-use of the editor. 

Many of your creations have a very stylized look – do you have a story or theme behind your creations? 

A sign of a talented musician is someone who is able to compose in many different musical styles. I try to emulate that by constantly looking for new styles and themes for my creations. Cute or scary, earthlike or alien, organic or technological, serious or joke creations… I try to create in different styles to retain my flexibility as a creator and spur creativity. I also constantly look for new and unique ways to use parts. Sometimes I write creation backround stories (see my sejilian series) but most often I choose to let the creation speak for its self, and leave the description area for funny or interesting notes…. after all, isn’t the game supposed to tell the creature/vehicle’s story when you play? 

 

Your creations seem like they have gotten more sophisticated as you continued to create. Do you feel your creations have evolved with time? 

Oh, most definitely. As time goes on you just learn more tricks and better ways to use parts. Its just a natural part of learning the game. At first most of my creations were centered on aspects of biology. In the writing field, they say you write what you know.  As both a biologist and a creator, I think the same applies for me. Even most of my early spaceships, vehicles, and buildings were influenced by biology. As I grew more comfortable with the game, I began seeking out more artistic and alien designs, and recently started experimenting with recreations of real-life objects and scenes. 

What would be the most essential piece of advice you could give for people to improve their creations? 

First and foremost, I would say that some good advice is to look at other people’s creations. Study them. Pull them apart in the editors. If you see something you like, grab it and find out what makes it good. You can get lots of insight on new styles, new ways of using parts, and even tricks you never realized existed! There’s no shame in pulling ideas from others (just make sure you give the original creators some credit!) I myself have pulled inspiration from DoomnovaCeecemo289SlivaStariDirtymeat, and others. There is no way I would have been making everything I did if I kept to myself. Utilizing the spore community has been a big help to me, so thanks to you all! 

 

 

Are you excited about the release of Spore Galactic Adventures on the 23rd of June? And how do you think you will use the adventures creator to advance you creations? 

Spore is an ambitious game with big shoes to fill, and Galactic Adventures looks to be an promising expansion that will help realize the game Spore was meant to be. I am interested to see how the new content fleshes out the game as a whole. I am a creator first and foremost, and I was never too interested in the actual gameplay of spore (I have to admit, I never even beat it!) I may get the game eventually, depending on if I can spare the money.  The mission editor looks fantastic. I believe that if I get it, I would be spending quite some time creating my own missions. 

4 Responses to “Creator Spotlight: Mouthwash”

  1. […] Mouthwash is one of the more popular creators, with a focus towards realism, and the design of objects. Read the Interview with Mouthwash Sporedums Creator/Creature Spotlight Homepage for past Spotlights __________________ […]

  2. Hey. I´d like to have a banner from your site in my blog

  3. woah cool said

    woah that gryphon is really cool. awesome interview!

  4. Chaossupersonic said

    WOOT! Mouthwash deserved this! I’m his spore buddy, and I look at what he has all the time!

Leave a Reply

 
